Ex-CICT boss, ICTO official feted

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

[/caption] Virgilio ?Ver? Pena, the first chair of the CICT, was honored at the event as ICT Contributor of the Year, alongside ICTO?s Monchito Ibrahim and Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA) Director General Lilia De Lima. Last December, Pena was also handed with the ?Lifetime Achievement Award? by the IT Journalists Association of the Philippines (CyberPress) for his meritorious contributions to the development of the local ICT industry. Ibrahim, also a former CICT commissioner, was cited for his work in government, primarily in the implementation of the Philippine Cyber Corridor Initiative, which aims to make the Philippines the Global for IT-BPO services. He was also instrumental in sustaining the development of the Philippine cyberservices industry, helping the country reach its current status of being second in global market share next to India. He also led marketing initiatives in promoting the Philippine IT-BPO brand worldwide, resulting in the country being awarded by the National Outsourcing Association the ?Offshoring Destination of the Year? in 2007, 2009 and 2010. Ibrahim is also active in organizing 34 regional ICT councils to help sustain regional ICT development projects. These councils helped establish and develop the country?s current ?Next Wave Cities?, or alternative destinations for IT-BPO, other than the established IT hubs of Metro Manila, Metro Cebu and Metro Clark, which currently account for 26 percent of the country?s IT-BPO output. The International ICT Awards is organized by the Canadian Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines (CanCham) and the Business Processing Association of the Philippines (BPAP). ]]>

Facebook Comments

Latest Posts