Cebu, Tarlac win first eGov awards for LGUs

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Cebu was first place in the Business Environment G2B (Government to Business) while Balanga topped the Business Environment G2C (Government to Customer), besting 58 other projects from various local government units all over the country. The competition is a flagship project of the National ICT Confederation of the Philippines (NICP), the Department of Interior and Local Government, and CyberCity TeleServices. NICP chair Jocelle Batapa-Sigue also announced the publication of a best practices book to contain the details of the winning ICT projects for distribution to all LGUs next year. DILG undersecretary Austere Panadero cited the winners for serving as a benchmark for other LGUs in integrating ICT to make local governments more effective, transparent, and responsive to their constituencies. George Sorio, president of Cybercity, said the trophy for the winners was inspired by the famous lighthouse in Ilocos to symbolize how best examples stand as a point of light that will guide everyone in our journey. The eGov Awards is conducted in honor of the late Secretary Robredo of the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) to recognize local government units utilizing information and communications technology (ICT) in the delivery of services. The G2C category recognizes the measurable effect of an LGU?s practice in applying ICT solutions in the education and engagement of the public in the use of electronic facilities and channels towards providing improved, timely, and relevant public services. The G2B category awards, meanwhile, cites the significant effect of an LGU?s laudable practices in integrating ICT solutions and the commitment of its administration to transparency, accountability, and in the responding to the needs of the business enterprises, thereby creating business opportunities. From various entries in the preliminaries, 18 finalists, or nine each per category or three per island cluster were identified in Bacolod City for Visayas, Mindanao in Davao City, Clark, Pampanga for Luzon. The finalists competed again for the finals at Clark, Pampanga on November 8-9, 2012. Placing second for the G2B category was Balanga City, Bataan while the third prize went to Carmona, Cavite. Finishing second for the G2C category is Naga City while the third place was snatched by the Province of Iloilo. Finalists in the G2C include the provinces of Negros Occidental, Agusan Del Sur, and Laguna, and cities of General Santos City, Ormoc, and Davao. Finalists in the G2B include cities of Ormoc, Cagayan De Oro, Koronadal, Butuan, San Fernando in La Union, and the Province of Iloilo. The awarding was held at Enchanted Kingdom, Sta. Rosa City, Laguna as the culminating activity in the 5th Annual National ICT Confederation of the Philippines Summit that was attended by over 40 ICT councils nationwide. ]]>

Facebook Comments

Latest Posts