6 cities, 1 municipality take home honors at 5th E-Gov Awards

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Winners of the G2C awards. Photo credit: Jocelle Batapa-Sigue Winners of the G2C awards. Photo credit: Jocelle Batapa-Sigue[/caption] They are the cities of Legazpi, Marikina, Valenzuela, Quezon, Tagum, and San Fernando, La Union and the municipality of Nagcarlan, Laguna. Legazpi City?s ?Balangay: A Cloud Information System for Disaster? tied with the ?Integrated Transport Management System? of San Fernando, La Union for the first place in the Best in Customer Empowerment (G2C) Award. The G2C category recognizes the measurable effect of an LGU?s outstanding practices using ICT solutions in the education and engagement of the public and in the use of electronic facilities and channels towards providing improved, timely and relevant delivery of public services. The ?Marikina Business Portal? topped the Best in Business Empowerment (G2B) Award, which recognizes the significant effect of an LGU?s laudable practices in integrating ICT solutions and the commitment of its administration in the LGU?s responsiveness to the needs of business enterprises, thereby creating business opportunities. Marikina City also came in third place in the G2C category for its ?Marikina One Map?. The ?Valenzuela City Online Services? and the ?ALS ANA KALANG CeC (Alternative Learning System Ang NAgcarlan sa KAbuhayan at Literasi Aangat at Nangunguna sa Galing Community Electronic Center)? of the Municipality of Nagcarlan, Laguna tied for second place in the G2C Category. Completing the top three finishers in the G2B is Legazpi City?s ?Vision 2020: Invest Legazpi? which came in second place with the ?Continued ICT Innovations for A More Effective and Efficient Business Permit and Licensing Procedure? of Tagum City in the third place. The ?Quezon City Business One Stop Shop (QC BOSS)? was given a special award for the ePayment or Best in Digital Finance empowerment. [caption id="attachment_34141" align="aligncenter" width="1000"]Winners of the G2B awards. Photo credit: Jocelle Batapa-Sigue Winners of the G2B awards. Photo credit: Jocelle Batapa-Sigue[/caption] The E-Gov Awards is an annual search for the best practices in local government units in utilizing ICT to effectively and efficiently deliver its public services directly to its constituents and to its business stakeholders. The objective of the eGOV Awards is to encourage the effective and efficient utilization of ICT in the delivery of services and in the performance of duties and responsibilities by LGUs. ?We also aim to commend, collate and document best practices of LGUs in integrating ICT in their processes to serve as example and benchmarks to other LGUs and to improve the business ecosystem of the LGUs and motivate the private and business sector to actively participate and invest in the growth of the LGUs,? said Jocelle Batapa-Sigue, awards chair and NICP trustee. Criteria for judging include innovative management in the use of ICT, impact or major results, their effects and benefits to the recipients of the service, relevance of the project to the overall objectives of the LGU and replication potential. NICP also announced that three more categories will be opened in next year?s search, namely the Best in Data ? Driven Governance (D2G) initiated in partnership with the Data Privacy Commission, Best in Government to Government Interoperability (G2G) and the Digital Finance empowerment or e-Payment. ]]>

Facebook Comments

Latest Posts