PH dominates international math contest

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

The Philippines won the most medals and awards in the 2015 Challenge for Future Mathematicians (CFM) contest, held in Manila on Oct. 26 to 29.


Contestants from Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, and host Philippines competed in the competition, which was organized by the Philippine Board of Studies Foundation (PBOS) headed by Robert Degolacion together with the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG) under Dr. Simon Chua and the Mathematics Development Academy of the Philippines (MathDAP) under Dr. Archieval Rodriguez.

In the individual contest, the Philippines won 8 gold, 12 silver, and 22 bronze medals followed by Vietnam with 1 gold, 4 silver and 3 bronze; Thailand with 1 gold, 3 silver and 4 bronze; Malaysia with 1 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze; and Indonesia with 1 gold and 9 bronze medals.

In the team competition, Malaysia won as champion in the Upper Primary level while the Philippines topped the Middle Primary and Junior divisions.

In total, Filipino kids won 53 medals and trophies in the competition.

The winners were awarded by Dr. Isidro Aguilar, overall chairman of the organizing committee; Dr. Priscilla de Sagun, schools division superintendent of the Department of Education-Manila; Dr. Eduardo dela Cruz, dean of the Arellano University School of Education; and Dr. Rodriguez.

Degolacion said the Filipino winners are:

Gold medalists

Jonathan Conrad Yu – Philippine Christian Gospel School
Fedrick Lance Lim – Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Andrhea Angelina San Gabriel – University of Baguio Science High School
Ryan Jericho Sy – Chiang Kai Shek College
Alvann Walter Paredes Dy – St. Jude Catholic School
Rovi Gabriel Dela Cruz – Pasig Catholic School
Deanne Gabrielle Algenio – Laguna College
Wesley Gavin Palomar – Falcon School

Silver medalists

Westin Darren Maceda – St. Jude Catholic School
Daryll Carlsten Ko – St. Stephen?s High School
Oniluv Troy Tabujara – Falcon School
Audrey Gabriel Tan – Malayan High School of Science
Jeffrey Jan Jabaes – Pangasinan Universal Institute
Juan Rafael Landicho – Stonyhurst Southville International School
Martin Gabriel Lopez – First Asia Institute of Tech and Humanities
Christian Jacob Yap – St. John?s Institute
Sean Matthew Tan – Jubilee Christian Academy
Danela Kyla Maceda – St. Jude Catholic School
Rikka Grace Sombiro – Solomon Integrated School De Iloilo
Robert Frederik Uy – St. John?s Institute

Bronze medalists

Kristin Angela Narag – Philippine Science High School-Main
Matthew Shawn Tansiongkun – Xavier School
Gabrielle Jackie Candano – Aquinas University of Legazpi Science High School
John Ian Lenix Hingan – San Beda College-Alabang
Vince Edward Lacson – Makati Science High School
John Florence Dizon – Calamba Elementary School
Jared Eligio – St. Francis of Assisi College
Marie Emmanuelle Martinez – UP Integrated School
Jerome Samuel Tan – Makati Hope Christian School
Luke Sebastian Sy – Grace Christian College
Sophia Monique Chan – Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Shanna Camille Tiampong – Iloilo Scholastic Academy
Zoe Angeli Uy – St. Jude Catholic School
Martin Rye Belino – Special Education Center for the Gifted
Lyonel Justin Ching – Jubille Christian Academy
Rickson Caleb Tan – MGC New Life Christian Academy
Filbert Joseph Ubanos – Elizabeth Seton School
Clarissa Lois Dalian – Precious International School of Davao
James Martin Young – SPED-ISEC
Marianne Casugbo – Hua Siong College of Iloilo
Enrico Miguel Del Rosario – Assumption Iloilo
Kent Vincent Gale – Precious International School of Davao

Team Competition

Middle Primary Division

Philippine Team E – Champion
Philippine Team C- First Runner-up
Philippine Team B – First Runner-up
Malaysia Team A – Second Runner-up
Philippine Team D – Second Runner-up
Indonesia Team A – Second Runner-up
Thailand Team A – Second Runner-up

Upper Primary Division

Malaysia Team A – Champion
Philippine Team C – First Runner-up
Philippine Team D – First Runner-up
Thailand Team A – Second Runner-up
Indonesia Team A – Second Runner-up
Philippine Team E – Second Runner-up

Junior Division

Philippine Team A – Champion
Vietnam Team A – First Runner-up
Philippine Team B – First Runner-up
Philippine Team C – Second Runner-up
Philippine Team D – Second Runner-up
Vietnam Team B – Second Runner-up

Facebook Comments

Join Our Newsletter! Zero spam, unsubscribe anytime!

Latest Posts