Saturday, April 20, 2024

UP recognizes best science journalists in PH

The University of the Philippines recognized five winners and 13 finalists for the first UP Science Journalism Awards held in UP Diliman.

The winners of the first UP Science Journalism Awards with UP professor Clarissa David (left) and UP Masscom dean Elena Pernia (right)

The winners are Angelica Yang of GMA News Online for Best Science News Story, Nef Luczon of SunStar Cagayan De Oro for Best Science Commentary for Print and Online, Edmund Usman of Rappler for Best Science Feature Story for Print and Online, Michael Joe Delizo of ABS-CBN/DZMM for Best Science Story for Radio, and Mikael Angelo Francisco of GMA News Online for Best UP Science Story.

They received a cash prize and a trophy designed by the late National Artist for Sculpture, Napoleon V. Abueva. Finalists from different publications and media organizations were also awarded certificates of recognition.

The Science Journalism Awards recognizes exemplary reporting in science and technology, as well as, the scientific researches and developments in the country. It also aims to acknowledge the importance of communicating accurate science stories and the mainstreaming of science and technology into the public consciousness.

The finalists include: Stanley Gajete of Manila Times, Timothy James Dimacali of GMA News Online for Best Science News Story; Jesse Madriaga of Mindanao Times for Best Science Commentary for Print and Online; Herty Lopez of Super Balita Cebu, Henrylito Tacio of Edge Davao, and Stephanie Tumampos of Business Mirror for Best Science Feature Story for Print and Online; Dr. Josephine Agapito and Dr. Custer Deocaris of Pinoy Scientist- Radyo Aguila, and Tech Sabado of Radyo 5 for Best Science Radio Story; Erwin Nicavera of SunStar Bacolod, Melvin Calimag of Newsbytes.PH, and Nickolas Tubo of SunStar Philippines for Best UP Science Story.

The winners and finalists for this years? Awards reflect the result from 60 nominations of a diverse group of mainstream and community media organizations nationwide. The judging committee is composed of journalists, academicians, scientists, and an economist to well represent S&T as an interdisciplinary field.

?Very often science is perceived to be something that is not understandable, something that exists in laboratories. Our program aims to bring home the fact that everything we do and everything that we use benefited and continues to benefit from developments in science. The UP Science Journalism Awards is part of that communicating product it is to bring the journalists together with the scientists to deliver the message to the ordinary man that science is something that is daily beneficial,? said Dr. Elena Pernia, program leader of Communicating Science and Technology Research and Development at UP (CoST UP).

UP Science Journalism Awards is a project component of CoST UP, an Emerging Interdisciplinary Research Program (EIDR), funded by the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs of the UP System. Call for entries for the 2019 edition of the awards will open in March.


- Advertisement -spot_img




- Advertisement -spot_img