Sunday, April 21, 2024

Filipino ‘mathletes’ dominate India contest with 33 awards

Young Filipino students wrapped up 2018 on a high note, finishing overall first runner-up and winning 32 other awards in an international math contest in India.

The victorious Philippine team at the awarding ceremony of the 8th International Youth Mathematicians Convention (IYMC) in Lucknow, India

The contestants, composed of junior and senior high school students, won 6 gold, 7 silver and 7 bronze medals in the individual competition, and 13 awards in the team, relay and math quiz in the 8th International Youth Mathematicians Convention (IYMC) held from Dec. 1 to 7 in Lucknow, India, according to the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG). 

In the individual competition, MTG said, the winners are:

Gold medal

  • Maria Leianna Yutig – PhilippineScience High School (Southern Mindanao)
  • Victor Dominic Naraval – BHCEducational Institution
  • Hans Benedict Gaw Te – Bacolod Tay Tung High School
  • Patrick Nino Policarpio – FarEastern University Senior High School
  • Cristina Beatrice Mallari – St.Paul College-Pasig
  • Cristina Bianca Mallari – St.Paul College-Pasig

Silver medal

  • Bernabe Dy III – PangasinanUniversal Institute
  • Madelyn Esther Cruz – PhilippineScience High School (Main)
  • Margaret Esther Cruz – PhilippineScience High School (Main)
  • Wally Santos – Senator RenatoCompa?ero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School
  • Sanielle Meliz Ong – SaintJohn?s Institute
  • Sam Robertson Pelegrino – Upper Bicutan National High School
  • Mar Anderson Princer – De La Salle Medical and Health SciencesInstitute

Bronze medal

  • Kyle Xander Co – Bethany Christian School
  • Ronn Derick Simbol – BHCEducational Institution
  • Victor Ruben Yu – Universityof Santo Tomas-Legazpi
  • John Orbien Realuyo – Universityof Santo Tomas-Legazpi
  • Azzedine Abrencillo – International School for Better Beginnings
  • Iris Salangad – San BedaCollege-Alabang
  • Ma. Erica Therese Santos – SenatorRenato Compa?ero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School

The two Cruz sisters and Naraval, comprising team Senior-Philippines A, emerged as the overall first runner-up in the senior division after winning as champion in the team contest and math quiz, and second runner-up in the relay contest.

“The India contest is the last international competition for Filipino students in 2018 and we congratulate them for a job well done. 2018 is another victorious year for our young math wizards as they competed and won in international math contests in different countries. We will continue to train them for contests abroad,” said Dr. Isidro Aguilar, MTG president.

Besides winning individual medals, Filipino students also bagged other awards.

Emerging as champions in the team contest are Senior-Philippines C composed of the Mallari sisters and Ong, and Senior-Philippines F composed of Pelegrino, Princer and Kaizer Albert De Asis of Quezon City Christian Academy.

Team Junior-Philippines A?s Co, Simbol and Yu of won first runner-up in the relay contest and second runner-up in the team contest and math quiz.

Winning first runners-up in the team contest are Team Junior-Philippines C, composed of Marc Ferdinand Calica of the University of Santos Tomas Junior High School-Manila and Merlin Reign Sualibios of Elizabeth Seton School-South; Junior-Philippines B?s Dy, Realuyo and Yutig; and Senior-Philippines B?s Gaw Te, Policarpio and Santos.

Abrencillo, Parul Henry Gumarin of Taguig Science High School and Jaime Angelo Nery of GCF-International Christian School, comprising team Senior-Philippines D, won second runner-up in the team contest.

Accompanying the students to the contest were MTG’s Simon Chua, Renard Eric Chua and Aldwin Sahirul, and executive director Lilia Habacon of the Philippine Science High School System, who was also a guest of honor at the IYMC.

MTG said about 500 students competed in the contest from the Philippines, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brazil, India, Indonesia, Nepal, Russia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Thailand and United Arab Emirates.


- Advertisement -spot_img




- Advertisement -spot_img