Thursday, June 20, 2024

PH proclaimed overall champion in India math contest

Filipino high school students emerged as overall champion in a math competition in India, continuing their winning streak in international contests.

The Philippine team members with their coaches show the medals they won in the India math contest
The Philippine team members with their coaches show the medals they won in the India math contest

All 18 Filipino delegates won in the 6th International Young Mathematicians? Convention (IYMC) held in Lucknow, India, and brought home 13 gold, 3 silver, and 2 bronze medals in the individual category, and 13 awards in team-related contests.

?Once again, our young Filipino mathematicians rose to the challenge and won. We are very proud of their achievements in this contest,? said Simon Chua, president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG).

Winning individual gold medals are:

? Sephi Marz Liclican of Philippine Science High School-Ilocos Region Campus,
? Christopher Banzon of Makati Science High School,
? Mark Davidson Cua of Pangasinan Universal Institute,
? Grant Aaron King of Grace Christian College,
? Terrence Brian Tsai of Chiang Kai Shek College,
? John Henry Marquez of Philippine Science High School-Main,
? Miko Johnson Co and Hans Markson Tan of St. Stephen’s High School,
? Matthew Angelo Isidro and Stefan Marcus Ong of St, Jude Catholic School,
? James Christian Atilano, Gene Go Jr. and Xavier Jefferson Ray Go of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School.

Bagging silver medals are:

? William Joshua King of Bethany Christian School
? Sabrina Rae Chan and Shannon Gail Ho of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School.

The bronze medalists are:

? John Luis Maglinao of T.D. & S Hope Christian Academy
? Orex Ong of Trinity Christian School.

The Philippine Team B composed of Liclican, Chan and Ho was declared as overall champion in the contest.

In addition, five Philippine teams won as champions while another one got second runner-up in the team contest.

In the math relay contest, the Filipino students won two champion awards, one first runner-up and one second runner-up. They also grabbed first and second runners-up in the math quiz.

Accompanying the students to the contest were team leaders Renard Eric Chua, Myrna Agtarap, and Thelma Cambas.

The IYMC was participated in by 178 teams in the junior level from South Africa, Thailand, Qatar, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Indonesia, India, Iran, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and the Philippines.


- Advertisement -spot_img




- Advertisement -spot_img