Wednesday, April 17, 2024

PLDT users in NCR to have 8-digit numbers by October

PLDT subscribers in Metro Manila and some nearby provinces will have eight-digit landline numbers starting October 6, 2019.

The migration from the existing seven-digit format to eight digits is in compliance with the directive of the National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) in its memorandum no. 10–10–2017 which orders all telecoms providers in the Metro Manila area to migrate all their customers to eight-digit telephone numbers “to address the insufficient number of assignable exchange codes.”

The change applies to telephone numbers with the area code “02”. This covers PLDT customers in Metro Manila and also those in Rizal Province, San Pedro, Laguna, and Bacoor, Cavite.

“PLDT subscribers and those calling them will have no difficulty adjusting to this number change. All they have to do is add the number ‘8’ at the start of the existing landline number. So, if your existing number is say 123-4567, then it will become 8123-4567,” said PLDT and Smart public affairs head Ramon R. Isberto.

“We would like to encourage our subscribers in Metro Manila and other ‘02’ areas to start disseminating their updated numbers to their callers and updating their promotional materials such as business cards, websites, and social media,” he added.

The migration process will start early morning of October 6 – from 12:01 AM until 5:00 AM.

Callers from the provinces will only need to do the usual national direct dialing procedure which now includes their Metro Manila contact’s 8 digit number: Dial 0 + Area Code (2) + 8 digits landline number.

Those outside the Philippines will have to do the following: Dial 00 + Country Code (63) + Area Code (2) + 8 digits landline number.


- Advertisement -spot_img




- Advertisement -spot_img