Photo | DOST, CSC proclaim new scientists


Ten new researchers who were conferred the scientist rank by the Department of Science and Technology and the Civil Service Commission under the Scientific Career System took their oath on June 30 at Richmonde Hotel in Eastwood, Libis, Quezon City.

new scientists

From left: Norvie Manigbas from PhilRice; Susan May Calumpang from National Crop Protection Center, UPLB; Rosalina Lapitan and Arnel Del Barrio from Philippine Carabao Center; Erloinda Naret from University of the Philippines Visayas (Iloilo); Eufrocina Atabay and Edwin Atabay from Philippine Carabao Center; Edwin Alcantara and Nelly Aggangan from BIOTECH, UPLB; and Arvin Diesmos from National Museum of the Philippines, who was appointed from Scientist II to Scientist III.

The Scientific Career System is a system of recruitment, career progression, recognition and reward of scientists in public service, to develop a pool of highly qualified and productive scientific personnel.

It was established in 1983 pursuant to Executive order No. 784 and further reinforced under R.A. 8439 or “Magna Carta for Scientists, Engineers, Researchers and Other Science and Technology Personnel in Government.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here