Friday, May 31, 2024

DOJ names cybercrime prosecutors, wants special cybercrime courts

The Department of Justice (DOJ) has assigned two state prosecutors who will form the ?Prosecution Task Force on Cybercrime? that will handle cybercrime cases under the Office of Cybercrime (OOC).


The designation of the cybercrime prosecutors was contained in Department Order No. 746 dated September 8, 2014, but made known only to the public on Thursday, Oct. 23.

“This specially trained unit is essential to enforce the new law against cybercrime. Information and communication technology (ICT) is fast evolving and the department needs to learn and adapt to the new threats,? said DOJ secretary Leila M. de Lima.

De Lima said the DOJ will also recommended to the Supreme Court that ?dedicated cybercrime courts be named? to allow the efficient and speedy disposition of ICT-related cases.

The task force on cybercrime is headed by senior deputy state prosecutor Theodore M. Villanueva and senior assistant state prosecutor Lilian Doris S. Alejo.

Prosecutor-General Claro A. Arellano said that “a combination of seasoned and dynamic prosecutors already convened to discuss a plan of action.?

“What will distinguish this team is its grounding on the technical aspects of investigation and prosecution of cybercrimes focused on the priorities of child abuse, business fraud and network security,? said DOJ assistant secretary Geronimo L. Sy, head of the OOC.

Among the cybercrimes covered are violations of the Cybercrime Prevention Act of 2012, Anti-Photo and Voyeurism Act of 2009, Anti-Child Pornography Act of 2009, E-Commerce Act of 2000, Access Devices Regulation Act of 1998, and Anti-Wiretapping Law of 1965.


- Advertisement -spot_img




- Advertisement -spot_img